Personal tools
You are here: Home Goldstein Scholars announced

Goldstein Scholars announced

MAS, the Meteorical Society and Springer are pleased to announce the winners of the Joseph Goldstein Scholar Award

MAS is pleased to announce the winners of the Joseph Goldstein Scholar Award, sponsored by the Meteoritical Society and the publisher Springer.  This new award is intended to promote career advancement for early career members of the Microanalysis Society, increase interactions of junior and established microanalysts, and to advance the state-of-the-art in microanalysis measurements. Activities eligible for the awards are: (1) travel costs for the Goldstein Scholar to visit a microanalysis facility to make measurements that advance the Goldstein Scholar’s skills and/or the state-of-the-art in microanalysis;  (2) Travel costs / fees associated with attendance at a microanalysis school or training course, e.g., Lehigh, McCrone, ASU, etc.. Up to five awards of up to $1000 each will be granted each year, with applications reviewed twice yearly in conjunction with the Winter and Summer Council Meetings.  All MAS members who are less than 5 years beyond their terminal degree, and who have not received a Goldstein Scholar award within the prior 5 years, are eligible to apply.  A one-time renewal for current awardees who need to make a return visit for additional measurements will be considered, in cases where this will have a clear impact on the results obtained, e.g., equipment failure on the first visit.

The winners are:

  • Michelle Thompson from the Department of Planetary Sciences at the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory from the University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
  • Madeleine Kelly from the School of Materials Science & Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University
  • David Misch from the Montanuniversitaet Leoben, Chair of Petroleum Geology
Document Actions